IMAGE FOUND AT: www.donttextdrive.comRhetorical Analysis: The purpose of the billboard ad is, clearly, to urge drivers not to text and drive, as the act of doing so could be and is often dangerous. I think that the intended audience would be primarily teenagers who have just gotten their licences to college students who frequently text and drive (so ages roughly 18-22). I feel as though seasoned drivers and adults would (or should) know better than to do so, and it is a Trauma Center who sponsors the ad, so perhaps the center wants to use the ad to deter young adults from doing any texting and driving so that they don’t end up at one of their trauma centers for having been in an accident, wrecking their bodies and the cars they just got, because they were texting. The image prompts the reader to, after reading the message depicted on the board, to probably put down his or her cell phone and drive carefully. Some people believe in signs and are superstitious, so I feel as though if I were such a person and I was texting and driving and saw that sign, I would put my phone down immediately and be like “Ok you win this one.”

Elemental/Design Analysis: The design element implemented here is that of “Contrast.” Within the image of the billboard, the concept of contrast is used to send a double message to the consumer. On the one hand, the text reads “Don’t Text and Drive” but because of the way that the dark green color works against the black asphalt in the background, the text also reads “Don’t Text and Die.” The fact that the D, I, and E are white also contrasts with the black asphalt background in such a way that it seems a though the “D–I–E” is somehow emboldened, and I think that this effect is also caused by having the R and V the dark green color because it seems as though those letters are somehow secondary to the D, I, and E. This element reaches the target audience, I think, because a lot of people our age are really appreciative of puns and optical tricks such as this. I think that the target audience would, or should, appreciate the frank cleverness of the billboard and how the message is both hidden and direct.

